Nerdy Feminist: Prometheus: We Miss You, Ripley!

I saw the film over the weekend, but I am still digesting it.  I will share some thoughts on it soon.

In the mean time, Here is some solid feminist thinking on Prometheus from a blogger I ran across.

The Nerdy Feminist.

Wait.  Nerd?  And Feminist!?

I don’t know.

That sounds dangerous.  Like a critical mass of coolness.

And it turns out that it is indeed an excellent blog.   Give it a click.

(Spoiler Alert for the linked page)

Without spoiling anything, I can say that the amazing character of Ellen Ripley, as portrayed by Sigourney Weaver in Alien does NOT have a match in Prometheus. In fact, I’m very disappointed that at least in this series, it appears we’ve quite regressed in the last 33 years. I was so disappointed and concerned that I actually started to jot down the following notes in the theater.

Nerdy Feminist: Prometheus: We Miss You, Ripley!.

Leave a comment

Filed under Culture, Feminism, Movies

Leave a Reply

